GLEE. BEST EPISODE EVER? I'M THINKING YES. OMG. Now that he FINALLY got more screen time I think I'm going to have to add Artie to my list of favourite characters. How much did the numbers rock in this one? Especially with Kevin, Mercedes and Jenna taking the lead in "Proud Mary", which was AMAZING, HOLY CRAP, PROBABLY THE BEST NUMBER YET. I love Chris Colfer SO MUCH, I just want to hug him forever. Kurt is so tough, man, and SO fierce. I still think Defying Gravity was watered down for the episode, but his little face when he sang it, and when he took the metaphorical bullet for his father. He's just terrific. How can you not love him? Puck tries so hard, and still does the wrong thing and can't get anywhere. Mark is so hot. Gah. I love those three boys so much it kills me.
Still not a fan of Sue actually having a soft side, but Jane Lynch is such a terrific actress, she absolutely sells it every time. I'm also a fan of the adults taking a back seat - no Emma and Ken, no Terri, just the kids, and only minimal Rachel & Finn (which makes me like them more.)
I also love that they write these kids are written as teenagers. They do the wrong thing, they're awkward, they talk about stupid things, they're rude to each other. Under all that they just want to be accepted. It's pretty much spot on. I don't find myself liking the girls, though - I actually like Rachel best of all of them. I think the Tina thing is a real setback, and they need to do some work with her to get her back in people's good graces, and Mercedes has been nothing but rude lately. So here's hoping they get better.
Green Queen
Still not a fan of Sue actually having a soft side, but Jane Lynch is such a terrific actress, she absolutely sells it every time. I'm also a fan of the adults taking a back seat - no Emma and Ken, no Terri, just the kids, and only minimal Rachel & Finn (which makes me like them more.)
I also love that they write these kids are written as teenagers. They do the wrong thing, they're awkward, they talk about stupid things, they're rude to each other. Under all that they just want to be accepted. It's pretty much spot on. I don't find myself liking the girls, though - I actually like Rachel best of all of them. I think the Tina thing is a real setback, and they need to do some work with her to get her back in people's good graces, and Mercedes has been nothing but rude lately. So here's hoping they get better.
Green Queen
From:
no subject
I'm gonna weigh in on the girls comment: Do you not like Quinn? I think there's something there with her, that deep down she is a good person, but she's had to be this other person for so long that it's going to take a little time to surface. I think Santana and Brittany are hilarious, especially Brittany. I think Rachel in smaller doses when she's acting like a diva is a good thing. I just wish they'd give us MORE to her than just the "I MUST BE A STAR" stuff. Lea's so good, she deserves more to work with. I have to admit, though, that I'm not a fan of Mercedes. At all. I think she's bitchy and obnoxious. Amber's a great singer, and she killed it on Proud Mary, but her character pisses me off. It's like they've made her a walking Black Female cliche, and the only time they tried to break that and give her something more to work with, they made her look like a complete idiot with her misguided crush on Kurt.
Also: Kurt was fabulous start to finish.
From:
no subject
I don't want Sue to get too soft on us, but I liked seeing a more vulnerable, human side to her. I don't want her to change the way she interacts with people at the school but it was nice and moving to get a behind-the-scenes glimpse at the Softer Side of Sue.