Saw two movies tonight:

Fanboys

This movie was moderately entertaining, but I felt like ultimately it didn't say anything. There were some nifty cameos, and a few intriguing ideas about fandom and what it means to people were dropped in favour of Star Trek bashing (and inaccuracy), silliness, and an ultimately pretty forgettable movie. Dan Fogler seemed to be going for Jack Black-lite, but I thought Jay Baruchel and Kristen Bell were the best parts of the movie. Although, really, when is Kristen Bell not awesome? The characters weren't given enough depth to really resonate, and the comedy was slapsticky and hit-and-miss.

2.5 out of 5

Charlie Bartlett

Anton Yelchin is a frakkin' prodigy, and Robert Downey Jr. is always amazing. Put them together and you've got yourself something interesting. Charlie Bartlett was really surprisingly good. It was sweet for a movie about a drug dealing teenager, and sharp for a high school coming-of-age comedy, and incredibly insightful and engaging. Yelchin and Downey are forces of nature in this movie - they're adversaries, and family substitutes, and mirrors of each other. Both of them are ncredibly sympathetic in spite of being colossally fucked up. The writing was good, and Kat Dennings was pretty good too, although she seems to pretty much just play one role. Still, I really enjoyed this, a lot more than I thought it would.

4 out of 5

If you haven't seen The Fall, this is why you need to. I've rarely seen such a stunning movie in my life.

Green Queen

From: [identity profile] subtle--sarcasm.livejournal.com


I really liked Charlie Bartlett, I don't get why it doesn't get much love from people. I of course adore Anton Yelchin and RDJ in pretty much anything, but I really enjoyed the movie. Kat Dennigs does seem to always play the same role, but I kinda like her nonetheless.

From: [identity profile] green-queen.livejournal.com


I like her, but she seems talented enough that she could be doing more. The movie probably wouldn't have been as good without Anton and RDJ, they were excellent.
ext_16618: ([Misc] Fall.)

From: [identity profile] killmotion.livejournal.com


I liked Fanboys pretty well but I kept thinking of what a Fangirls movie would be like haha.

I need to see this movie! RDJ and Anton!

THE FALL IS JUST ONE OF THE PRETTIEST MOVIE EVER.

From: [identity profile] green-queen.livejournal.com


LOL! Probably like one of the fan-centric episodes of Supernatural *groan*

It's good!

IT IS RIDICULOUS HOW PRETTY THE MOVIE IS. How is it not more popular?!
.

Profile

green_queen: (Default)
green_queen

Most Popular Tags

Powered by Dreamwidth Studios

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags