This Whedonverse girls video made for [livejournal.com profile] whedonland is AWESOME.

Gilrs who dress as guys picspam.

12-year-old uses World of Warcraft skills to save his sister from moose attack.

NAAAAAARM. Just...click that link. I don't want to try to explain that awesome picspam.

Middleman tropes picspam>.

Raised by Wolves: A TV Tropes Picspam.

Kristin Chenoweth is awesome. In other news, the Earth is round. (Link title stolen shamelessly from [livejournal.com profile] gabsy, who is also awesome.)

Jake Gyllenhaal gets full grilling.

Fandom Superlatives: go vote!

Icons: Multi-fandom, Harry Potter, Whedonverse & Disney

The Losers

I genuinely do not understand why people don't love this movie. I thought it was AWESOME. It was funny, the cast was SMOKING hot, there were cool explosions, it had Chris Evans in it, and the characters had terrific chemistry. Their interplay was pretty much the best thing in the movie - very likeable and funny, and comfortable enough to believe in their relationships. The plot is ridiculous and the villain way over the top, but I enjoyed it a lot anyway. There's a pretty hilarious bit with Chris Evans where he pretend he has mind-control powers that you've got to see. It looked great, good colours. The visual style reminded me a little of Push. Jeffrey Dean Morgan is always good, and he was so cool in this one.

4 out of 5

My Brilliant Career

This is labelled a "timeless classic" on IMDb. I think the only negative thing I have to say about it is that it isn't timeless. It's a beautifully told story, and the performances are all terrific, particularly from Judy Davis in the lead role, but the pacing and the audiovisual style don't translate well to a modern audience, in my opinion. It's a fabulous feminist story, though. It makes you think about how far women have come and how hard we've had to fight for it, which is always good, and it has a strong independent streak that I love.

4 out of 5

The Imaginarium of Dr. Parnassus

This movie is beautiful and strange, more Terry Gilliam than most other Terry Gilliam movies I've seen. The ideas and visuals are married together in that brilliant, gorgeous Gilliam way, sometimes recalling previous work. The acting is mostly strong, but a Gilliam movie is never really about acting. Heath Ledger is good, but he seems to be doing almost a Johnny Depp impersonation, so much so that when Johnny Depp actually showed up he felt more natural in the role. Verne Troyer was funny and fantastic. I like the ideas that the film brings to light, although I don't really understand why they never took the idea of upgrading the Dr. Parnassus 'show' further for a modern audience - I think it could have been interesting.

The thing that really detracted from the film for me is the insertion of Heath Ledger's character into the story. I never really understood why Lily Cole's character liked him, or why he was so quick to just jump in with their weird little troupe. He's a weird character who never quite sits right.

4 out of 5

Ginger Snaps

I've been wanting to see this for a while. It reminded me a lot of Buffy in a good way, particularly The Pack, but also other early episodes that used supernatural ideas as a metaphor for real life, something I miss from current Supernatural (ahem) TV shows that I like. This one uses the metaphor of lycanthropy for puberty, sometimes in subtle ways, sometimes whacking you over the head with the idea, but mostly successfully. Werewolves seem to be men more often than not, so it was fun seeing a girl werewolf movie, particularly one that centres on sisters. The cast is strong and the movie is fun, but it has some pacing issues. Worst thing about it is the absolutely terrible and not remotely scary werewolf animatronic, though. Completely takes you out of the movie. No amount of awesome gore can quite erase that memory.

3.5 out of 5

Carriers

Chris Pine is a magic man and he can do anything.

This is an interesting little movie. It's about a group of people who are trying to survive an apocalyptic virus that has wiped out nearly everyone, but it's more about the group falling apart than the apocalypse itself. It has some really effective, interesting character moments, most of which are instigated by the always amazing Chris Pine. He plays the jerk who leads the group really well, giving the character more layers than any of the others. He keeps them going and makes all the hard decisions. Also he's incredib;y pretty. The rest of the performances don't quite match his, although Piper Perabo and Chris Meloni acquit themselves pretty well.

3.5 out of 5

Green Queen

From: [identity profile] subtle--sarcasm.livejournal.com


That NAAAAAARM picspam is genius :D

My only problem with The Losers was that I read the comics, and both the actual plot and the characters just work a lot better there. Obviously this is almost always the case with book to screen changes, but I just thought the story worked better in the comic. Despite that, it was still really fun and pretty to look at :D

The thing that really detracted from the film for me is the insertion of Heath Ledger's character into the story. I never really understood why Lily Cole's character liked him, or why he was so quick to just jump in with their weird little troupe. He's a weird character who never quite sits right.
That was my main problem as well. That and the fact that NOBODY EVER REALLY REACTED TO THE REVELATION THAT HE STOLE THE ORGANS OF LITTLE CHILDREN AND SOLD THEM, WHAT??? I mean, we knew something was fishy about him and yes the mob in the scene chased him and wanted to hang him, but not because of that, just because he beat up what they thought was a little boy. I was just completely thrown by how casually they dropped that in there O_o

I should really watch Ginger Snaps, I only ever saw bits of it on TV.

From: [identity profile] green-queen.livejournal.com


I KNOW, RIGHT?

I'm kind of glad I didn't read the comics, then, because I thought the movie was enormously enjoyable.

Yeah, it was almost like they stopped being interested in him really suddenly, you know? It's a very strange shift.

From: [identity profile] magikalcrab.livejournal.com


I really quite liked Ginger Snaps. There are two more in the series, only one of which I've seen.

From: [identity profile] magikalcrab.livejournal.com


Oh, and I never finished watching Imaginarium ... was it worthwhile? I got bored 15 minutes in and decided to re-watch The Time Machine instead :-|

From: [identity profile] green-queen.livejournal.com


It really depends on whether you like Terry Gilliam. I do, so I liked it.
.

Profile

green_queen: (Default)
green_queen

Most Popular Tags

Powered by Dreamwidth Studios

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags