I have the flu, so these may not be totally coherent.

On Saturday I saw Bridesmaids

I can see what they were trying to do, and the movie made me laugh a fair few times - mostly when Chris O'Dowd was on screen being lovely - but I kind of feel like this movie was trying to be two movies at once. Oddly, I actually preferred the romantic comedy bits to the Apatow movie bits. I just don't like gross-out humour, no matter the gender of the person performing it. I also felt like the movie went on too long, particularly some of the awkward humour gags. I like most of the cast, I just like them more in other things. Also, it felt like some of the characters were seriously underdeveloped one-joke fillers. As much as it's nice to see a movie with a lot of women in it that isn't trying way too hard to make me cry, I wasn't really feeling it.

Also, I agree with [livejournal.com profile] grrliz regarding Melissa McCarthy - no amount of backtracking at the end can make up for the fact that most of the jokes are at her expense for being fat and awkward and sexually confident, rather than laughing with her. In fact, dramatising this later just makes the jokes at her expense from earlier worse, IMHO. I kind of want to go do a Gilmore Girls marathon so I don't feel gross.

2.5 out of 5

Then yesterday I saw The Chronicles of Riddick

Considering all I've heard about it, I was expecting this movie to be borderline unwatchable, which it wasn't. This series is still the best thing Vin Diesel's done, and Riddick is the best character he could play. What Chronicles is, is everything Pitch Black isn't. Where that movie is a taut, contained thriller, Chronicles is expansive, complicated and, ultimately, much less satisfying (although I have to cop to loving the original). Once it settles on a location, the film really starts to pick up, particularly with Riddick and Jack Kyra (which, why recast and rename her? The emotional connection is lost) running around on the prison planet. The cast is solid, which brings believability to an often unbelievable script, but there's fun to be had in amongst the overblown silliness.

Also, does anyone else who hasn't seen it know Judi Dench is in it? I was completely taken aback.

KARL URBAN

2 out of 5

Green Queen

From: [identity profile] everythingshiny.livejournal.com


i've been avoiding bridesmaids for exactly that - i hate gross-out, embarrassment humour. I hated the hangover for the same reason. I was tempted to give it a go for the cast but i will probably skip it.

From: [identity profile] melissajane14.livejournal.com


I agree with just about everything you've said about bridesmaids. Lots of jokes went on too long, I don't like gross out humour and I hated the way they were so mean to Melissa McCarthy's character.

From: [identity profile] green-queen.livejournal.com


Yeah, those jokes were so mean-spirited. It made me sad.

That sorting I was talking about: http://platform-934.livejournal.com/1115377.html
Edited Date: 2011-06-21 10:23 am (UTC)
.

Profile

green_queen: (Default)
green_queen

Most Popular Tags

Powered by Dreamwidth Studios

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags