green_queen: (HP/AVPM: Together We're Totally Awesome)
([personal profile] green_queen Jun. 30th, 2011 11:14 pm)
It's only Thursday but it feels like Friday. Boo.

Muppets as Game of Thrones characters. LOL
Game of Thrones: Great Moments in Sexposition. I was just saying this to someone last weekend.
Hot Twin Aaron Ashmore's character in Warehouse 13 to be gay. Even more reason to watch! I'm quite looking forward to it, actually. I miss Mrs. Frederick.
Stunningly pretty Super 8 picspam, because Super 8 is stunningly pretty - and ALMOST FINISHED AT THE CINEMA. WHAT. I'm seriously considering taking myself to it tomorrow morning.

Have two videos of Darren being adorable:




With bonus rest-of-the-Warblers and Chord Overstreet being adorable.


With bonus Nick Lang and Brian Holden being adorable. (I actually get this song stuck in my head all the time. Yes, I have the audio. Yes, this is who I am these days.)

AJ Holmes? Also adorable. Just FYI. In fact, fuck it, ALL OF TEAM STARKID is just ridiculous.

Last night I saw Step Up 3D

I feel deeply stupid calling it that, because I watched it on TV and definitely not in 3D, but whatever.

This movie is essentially a collection of admittedly really cool hip hop dance scenes poorly linked by a woeful plot that, obviously, more or less rehashes the first two (or what I imagine the first two to be - I haven't actually seen the second one but, based on the first one, my guess is that a hip hop dancing street girl falls for a "serious" dancer boy and they dance a lot). It IS full of familiar faces for SYTYCD and Glee fans, notably Joshua, Twitch, and Harry Shum.

I love dance movies, I do, but obviously the great dance movies have, you know, a story. As all great movies of any genre do. Flashdance is about rising up, Footloose is about rebellion against authority. It doesn't matter how great the dancing is - and the dancing is fantastic - if there's no story you forget you watched it the next day. Also, bizarrely, it felt like the lead character ended up playing sidekick in his own movie - he's the kid who connects all three movies. Even his romantic plot plays second fiddle and is ultimately underwhelming (although he and his love interest easily get the best duet dance of the movie).

So, the dancing. A couple of the dances fell flat, but mostly this is some awesome b-boying - the robot guy is OUTSTANDING, and the choreography is pretty fabulous. It's shot well, lovely and clear without too much cutting so you can really see the dancing, and the performers have to dance their asses off (probably to make up for the, ahem, "acting"). If you like SYTYCD, it's worth watching the dance scenes. If you're not...don't bother.

2 out of 5

Green Queen

From: [identity profile] truffle-shuffle.livejournal.com


Does this mean you've started watching Game of Thrones? Or have you finished it? What do you think of it?

From: [identity profile] green-queen.livejournal.com


I guess I forgot to post about that, what with Darren having eaten my brain and all. Yes, I have watched the whole thing. I enjoyed it. I mean, it's not my favourite thing EVER, but it was fun to watch with some great characters and it loooked good.

From: [identity profile] truffle-shuffle.livejournal.com


I loved the show. I'd recommend the books to you because they're SO GOOD, but I know you're not a big reader. However, if you're ever itching for something new to read, you should read those books. :D

From: [identity profile] melissajane14.livejournal.com


I am DEVOURING the Game of Thrones books. Gonna watch the show this weekend I think. Still no gay sex (which is apparently in the show).

From: [identity profile] green-queen.livejournal.com


Surely all that paper can't be good for your digestive system.

You and Rowan should be friends. You'd like each other.

From: [identity profile] truffle-shuffle.livejournal.com


We're friends on Twitter...and I emailed her a recipe once...why aren't we friends on here? I will rectify that now.

From: [identity profile] truffle-shuffle.livejournal.com


I'd heard that the gay sex is implied in the books, but other than the closeness between Renly and Loras briefly observed in A Clash of Kings, we never see it. Probably because neither Renly or Loras are POV characters.

From: [identity profile] melissajane14.livejournal.com


Yep, just got to that bit! But there are lots of clues - Rainbow Guard for instance.

From: [identity profile] dragongirl3745.livejournal.com


WEEE! Someone else who sees how absolutely adorable ALL the StarKids are. I love their little info commercials. Have you seen the one with Brolden, Walker, and Joey doing Infinitus and T-shirt sales? It has bonus Darren at the end. *dangles Darren-carrot as temptation to watch*

Whenever I read comments from people about why they don't sell AVPM and AVPS on dvd, I want to send those people this video. Sums up why they ask for donations for the AVPM/S soundtracks. Also explains why they don't have AVPM/S on dvd. Do they really want StarKid getting sued? Seriously?

(BTW: I friended you. You don't have to friend me back. I just want more people on my f-list who love StarKid.)

From: [identity profile] green-queen.livejournal.com


Of course I've seen it, it's adorable with Brian lying all over the other two.

The fact that we get to see AVPM/S at all is lucky, I don't know why people would want to push their luck.

From: [identity profile] dragongirl3745.livejournal.com


I love it too, obviously! Considering I posted the video to my journal!! LOL!

Yes, yes. Very appropriate. Heh!!! LOL!!

From: [identity profile] green-queen.livejournal.com


I friended you back, but I check my flist like twice a week, so I may not comment much.

From: [identity profile] dragongirl3745.livejournal.com


That's fine! I just wanted you to know, so that when you did check, you wouldn't wonder about getting posts full of my work rants and life rants!

From: [identity profile] lavender-love00.livejournal.com


That last video? I love it. I have audio. It's on my iPod. And I also get it stuck in my head all the time :)

From: [identity profile] green-queen.livejournal.com


Mmm, I have the audio too. Actually, I have two versions, one with the dialogue and one without.
.

Profile

green_queen: (Default)
green_queen

Most Popular Tags

Powered by Dreamwidth Studios

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags