On Tuesday I saw Kung Fu Panda 2

AWESOME.

The story in this one is a lot better - it's a more personal journey for Po, and he's more connected to the bad guy, so it improves a lot on the original. They still underuse most of the Five, but they give Tigress more to do, which is lovely. There are a lot of jokes for young and old - I caught a few lines that made me laugh really hard that the kids didn't get, but they laughed at some of the other parts. I wish live-action movies put as much effort into choreographing their fight scenes as this movie - you can see what's happening, and it's inventive and funny and cool. There isn't a sequence quite as cool as Tai Lung's escape in the first film, but a cart chase through the streets of the city is pretty great.

The voice cast is having fun. For obvious reasons, Crazy Gary Oldman as a mad genocidal peacock is an absolute delight, and the cameos are clearly enjoying themselves.

I love the art in the Kung Fu Panda movies. The animation on the fantasy/dream/memory sequences is always gorgeous and creative, and I love the depiction of China. The bad guy being a peacock added the opportunity for an extra layer of artistic fabulousness, which they took full advantage of.

The obvious set-up for a threequel at the end really annoyed me, though.

4 out of 5

Then, at midnight, I saw Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows Part 2

I suppose after the brilliance that was DH1, I should have known I would be disappointed by Part 2.

It started off well enough, like the first part - the scenes at Shell Cottage and Gringotts were faithful and cool and effective. Then they got back to Hogwarts and it all fell apart. It's like Steve Kloves suddenly remembered all the stupid things he'd been doing for years and started up again.


+/-

+ The depiction of the Malfoys was great - not much was really changed, but it was made a little bit clearer. The actors did a fantastic job.

+ The scene at Gringotts, and Warwick Davies as Griphook, were exactly as I pictured them. Love HBC-as-Hermione-as-Bellatrix, love the duplication of the treasure and the escape on the dragon, love all of it.

+ The movie looked fantastic. Great colour palette, the part where the suits of armour/stone soldiers protected the school looked FANTASTIC,

+ The Prince's Tale was done well (with the exception of the scene where Lily talks to Harry, which Snape can't POSSIBLY have known about).

+ The HBIC pair of Neville and McGonagall. It was a shame that Neville didn't get to say "Dumbledore's Army!" but he's still pretty fucking brilliant.

+ "Not my daughter, you bitch!"

+ The Forest Again. That was handled beautifully, with the Marauders and Lily together and supporting Harry.

+ Most of the King's Cross scene - that is absolutely the best and most faithful Dumbledore we've seen in eight movies. He's whimsical and a bit sad and grandfatherly and perfect. "Of course it's in your head, but why should that mean it isn't real?" was perfect. Only thing wrong with it was the SO SNAPE LOVED MY MOTHER, RIGHT? BECAUSE OF THE PATRONUS THING? Like, really, you couldn't figure that out already? Augh.


The epilogue was fine. We were expecting it to be awful and it wasn't great, but it wasn't bad, either. I think after we've seen the movie a couple of times, like after reading the book a few times, it will just become...part of it, accepted.


- I am never going to get over the fact that they didn't show Fred's death. I'm furious. It diminishes the entire impact of the battle, and it's a disservice to the fans and the character. It was still sad to see the Weasleys crying over him (GEORGE, OMG) but the force of horror and sadness isn't there. Also, not showing Percy's big return was a major let-down.

- Dear Steve Kloves, we get it. You are hot for Hermione Granger. She is your favourite thing in the entire world of Harry Potter, except maybe for Lily Potter. Letting that get in the way of faithfully adapting the books is just bad writing. Is that why all the Weasleys get the fuzzy end of the lollipop? Why Ron gets pretty much no decent moments with his best friend in the final movie of all the movies?

- WTF, boathouse? The return to the Shrieking Shack had resonance with earlier books, and relocating to a completely new location within Hogwarts is just stupid.

- The entire final part of the battle, when Harry and Voldemort chase each other all over the castle and Neville takes forever to kill Nagini so that we're not concentrating on the movie at all, just thinking "Wait, is Neville not going to kill Nagini? He has to!" That's not dramatic tension, it's taking people out of the movie.

- We see the bodies but not the deaths of the good guys, and the bad guys die but leave no bodies. They're not vampires, they don't burst into ash when you kill them. Oh, while I'm at it, Harry kills Voldemort...when they're entirely alone and not a single other soul is there to see it. Um. No.

Might add more when I think of it.

I'm torn about the rating of this. As a film it probably deserves 3.5 out of 5, but as an adaptation I only want to give it 2.5. I'm splitting the difference and calling it at:

3 out of 5

Green Queen

From: [identity profile] phorie.livejournal.com


I half expected they'd just have Hermione kill Nagini in the end.

From: [identity profile] green-queen.livejournal.com


Well, the sun shines out movie!Hermione's ass, so I wouldn't have been surprised. *sigh*

The cup Horcrux was a total wimp, too.

From: [identity profile] jozae.livejournal.com


Thank you for your review of Harry Potter. I was starting to think I'd seen a completely different movie because all my friends keep going on about how fantastic it was. Steve Kloves has pretty much butchered the film for me. I don't understand the final Harry Potter and Voldemort battle at all. The whole flying around whilst grabbing at each other's faces, and then Voldemort bursting into ash? What was the point of all of this? That, and the fact that Neville was the only spectator to actually see Harry defeat Voldemort. God, it was so anticlimatic.

And Fred's death. "Feeling okay, Fred?" "Yeh, alright." Cue to Fred's dead body. Urgh

From: [identity profile] zombres.livejournal.com


I ADORED Kung Fu Panda 2. It improved upon everything I loved in the first film. I hope that the inevitable third film just continues this trend.

From: [identity profile] kaiserkuchen.livejournal.com


I was also boggling about the addition of this boathouse, but I have to say that the way they chose to show Snape's death scene was uh, certainly impactful. I was wincing in my seat at the thumping noises, arghhghjasg.

And there really were so many fantastically filmed scenes, ahhh <333

From: [identity profile] godlizza.livejournal.com


I just finished my fourth viewing and the epilogue finally wasn't as "omg why!?" as it was for the first three times.

I have been asked by people if it is good and I hesitate each time before just saying it was "good." I can't go into what wasn't good because people who ask me might not have read the book (I feel like most who asked me today have not which makes me so sad because they probably never will). They will probably think the movie is awesome. I was shocked and disppointed at how little I actually ended up crying. I cried so much more in anticipation of this the last week.

I had 5 younger kids next to me today and all but one was old enough to read and understand the books. NONE of them had read them! They had heard a spolier and were wondering how the person could have seen the movie already and known what happened. At that point I had to mention that there were books and that they ought to read them because they were even better than the movies.

From: [identity profile] green-queen.livejournal.com


I saw it again last night. I'm still struggling, because all the non-hardcore book fans are saying it was good and I just can't.

Did you do Leaky? I don't remember.

From: [identity profile] godlizza.livejournal.com


I didn't do Leaky because I really couldn't let myself spend the money on it when I already had a trip planned for August. I have yet to watch all the clips people have posted but I did watch the livestream last night (I've been away from the internet). I heard on Tumblr that they are going to put the panel on iTunes, any idea if that is true? If it is true, I kind of want to avoid watching videos from the panel if it is.

From: [identity profile] green-queen.livejournal.com


I think so, I think they are putting it up and asking people to pay $1 towards charity to see it or something.

From: [identity profile] godlizza.livejournal.com


Yeah. I guess I will wait to watch video of the panel for a little while because I would love to watch it for the first time in its entirety with good sound and video quality.
.

Profile

green_queen: (Default)
green_queen

Most Popular Tags

Powered by Dreamwidth Studios

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags