Top Fives please!

Dom in US Weekly for his PETA project.

Michael Emerson, Henry Ian Cusick and Jorge Garcia doing stuff yay!

I like these Lost 3.03 'Further Instructions' icons.

LMAO. America can't handle Vegemite. Wimps.

Today I saw Little Miss Sunshine

This was really another (above average) indie feelgood comedy with a severely frakked-up family going on a road trip. It was hilarious, don't get me wrong. I loved Steve Carell in it, and that little girl, Abigail Breslin, was completely magical. Her talent for the beauty pageant is something everyone should see. The movie is dark and sharp and very, very funny. But after seeing Children of Men afterwards it just doesn't seem to have the same creative edge to it.

I think also that seeing Thank You for Smoking recently might have changed my mind in terms of this movie and its originality. People keep going on about how fresh it is, and I agree, it's better than 90% of the comedy out there. It's very well-acted, too. I don't know that quasi-indie comedies like this one are as rare as they're made out to be, though.

8 out of 10

Then I went to Lea's house, played Boggle and talked Buffy for a bit, went back to the cinema and saw Children of Men

I want to have Alfonso Cuaron's babies. I love him. I love his films so, so much. I think he has an incredible, emotive style. I was expecting to like this movie, but really, I spent about half of it with my jaw dropped, totally unaware of my surroundings. I was SO into it. It's dark and incredibly tense and moody. Clive Owen is incredible in it, and so is Chiwetel Ejiofor, who I am just enamoured of, he's amazing (and he looked hot.) And Charlie Hunnam was in it too! With dredlocks!

The movie has a hand-held feel to it, lots of long, moving shots that are incredible. There's a moment near the end when someone is shot right next to Clive Owen and blood spatters on to the camera, where it stays for the (long) duration of the shot. There's just enough humour to keep it from being a totally bleak film, mostly in the form of Michael Caine, who is fantastic. It's well-written and tight, and I can't imagine the headaches of having to coordinate the shots to work as perfectly as they did. Even the smaller characters are realy, fleshed-out characters.

It's also a really challenging movie in terms of its politics and ideas. It's set in a near future after procreation of the human race has stopped and the world's just gone to shit. It's a very bleak prospect for the future, but it's also a commentary on the way the world is today, particularly the treatment of immigrants in the film.

Go see Children of Men. Seriously.

10 out of 10.

from [livejournal.com profile] indilime.

10 Things Currently On Your Desk
01) Blank CDs
02) Entourage season 3 DVD thanks to [livejournal.com profile] __outofmymind
03) Several old Fabric memorandums I use for scrap paper
04) Notebooks
05) A cup full of pens and scissors
06) Gloves
07) The handle that fell off my cupboard door
08) My iPod
09) An empty water glass
10) A Serenity tin case with 'Doing the Impossible' inside it.

9 Favourite Ships
01) Seth/Ryan (The OC)
02) Jensen Ackles/Christian Kane (RPS)
03) Veronica/Logan/Piz (Veronica Mars)
04) Willow/Tara (Buffy the Vampire Slayer)
05) Dom/Billy (LotR RPS)
06) John/Rodney (Stargate: Atlantis)
07) Ron/Hermione (Harry Potter)
08) Sam/Frodo (Lord of the Rings)
09) Remus/Sirius (Harry Potter)

8 of Your Current Favourite Songs
01) Good Morning Joan - The Cardigans
02) Welcome to the Black Parade - My Chemical Romance
03) Downtown - Petula Clark
04) Rattlesnake Smile - Kane
05) I Don't Feel Like Dancin' - Scissor Sisters
06) It's Always More Than Once Before It Takes - Common Rotation
07) True Hollywood Romance - Common Rotation
08) Get Out the Map - Indigo Girls

7 People You Talk to The Most
01) My mother
02) My father
03) My sister
04) [livejournal.com profile] truffle_shuffle
05) [livejournal.com profile] tuatha_de
06) Mitchell
07) [livejournal.com profile] ack_attack

6 Favourite Kinds of Candy and/or Chocolate
01) Pina Colada Jelly Bellies
02) Maltesers
03) Pocky
04) Pinky
05) Tim Tams
06) Lindt 70% Bitter Chocolate

5 Favourite Bands/Artists
01) The Beatles
02) Ella Fitzgerald
03) Kane
04) My Chemical Romance
05) Cyndi Lauper

4 Websites You Visit Daily
1. LiveJournal
2. Hotmail
3. The Leaky Cauldron
4. The Bronze Alternative

3 Favourite Fictional Characters
01) Sirius Black (Harry Potter)
02) Samwise Gamgee (Lord of the Rings)
03) Ari Gold (Entourage)

2 Favourite Sayings
1. "Nifty"
2. "Frak."

1 Favourite Movie
1. Lord of the Rings




Dom at the Diesel fashion event.

Will the last person to die please turn out the light
Green Queen
greedy_dancer: (eh eh eeeeeeh!)

From: [personal profile] greedy_dancer


ha! i was always of the opinion Vegemite was a WMD ...

i saw Little Miss Sunshine yesterday, and loved it. and i plan on seeing Children of Men, so i'm glad to see you liked it!

From: [identity profile] green-queen.livejournal.com


I like Vegemite. You just have to eat it right. I can't believe it's banned in America. I bet they just use that weird little law as an excuse to ban it.

I enjoyed Little Miss Sunshine but it got overshadowed by Children of Men in my mind, CoM blew me away completely.
greedy_dancer: (obsessed)

From: [personal profile] greedy_dancer


it's true that going as far as banning it is a bit ... American ... lol

i really look forward to seeing CoM now, if it's even better than LMS ... it's great, i keep seeing good reviews of the movies i'm planning on seeing. i just hope i don't end up disappointed!

From: [identity profile] enamours-boy.livejournal.com


that is such a cute picture of Dom!! OMG fanning myself. Yea he made number one for his project sooo touched.
ext_16260: (Dom (Obvious))

From: [identity profile] skulkings.livejournal.com


I was all like OMG !!!!!!!!111111 at the Dom and KB naked. And then you were like, no, dom and KB are in seperate photos. And I was like *sporfle*
.
Really, I just woke up from the most disorienting dream.

The end.

From: [identity profile] green-queen.livejournal.com


LMFAO! Sadly, I don't have a picture of Dom and Kristen being naked together.

From: [identity profile] arrowchan.livejournal.com


No Vegemite!??????

Damn, now I'm even happier Gerard got into a UK instead of US uni. O_o

By the way, I just found out today that the college next to my boyfriend's at Oxford is where they shoot part of Harry Potter, the eating hall and stuff. Apparently students are allowed to eat there on Sundays so I've been invited to go along and eat there as a guest sometime. I thought of you! xD If you are ever in England feel free to drop me a line and hopefully you can come too, if you're interested. :3 (Maybe not, but the offer is there if you want it. XP)

From: [identity profile] green-queen.livejournal.com


That's so cool! I doubt I'll be in England, but if I go I'll take you up on that offer ;)

From: [identity profile] ack-attack.livejournal.com


I really loved Little Miss Sunshine, mostly for Steve Carell. And the girl. And the boy. And the mom and dad. And the grandpa. Okay. I loved them all.

I kind of want to do that meme now.

#7!!!!!!!! win :D

From: [identity profile] green-queen.livejournal.com


Steve Carell was awesome in that movie. Really. The kids were good, though, they held their own.

You should do it!

From: [identity profile] supertrink.livejournal.com


but, but... i like vegemite! that makes me a little sad. i'll add that to the list of reasons to move out of america asap.

From: [identity profile] flamingo-killer.livejournal.com


...WTF I MISSED OUT ON THE SCENE IN THIS (http://i6.photobucket.com/albums/y244/IsisCreations/Lost%20III/lost-fi-048.png) ICON. AH.

Also, it's true: we can't handle Vegemite. The smell of that and Marmite makes me gag.

From: [identity profile] green-queen.livejournal.com


That's because it wasn't in the episode, it was cut.

You're all wimps. I love Vegemite.

From: [identity profile] flamingo-killer.livejournal.com


Oh, well THAT would certainly explain it.

I know; we totally are. It's because we're American and eat too many sweet things like peanut butter :-/

From: [identity profile] green-queen.livejournal.com


Okay, peanut butter isn't sweet here either. You guys have weird peanut butter. I've never understood your peanut butter & chocolate obsession either. Eurgh.

From: [identity profile] flamingo-killer.livejournal.com


Your peanut butter isn't sweet? I mean, I guess sweet isn't the right word but...I dunno there's definitely sugar in it.

CHOCOLATE IS THE BEST. You would discover this I am sure. No, seriously. I love chocolate. And peanut butter. Actually, peanut butter-chocolate swirls are the best things ever.

You're missing out :(

From: [identity profile] green-queen.livejournal.com


I eat sugar-free peanut butter.

I love chocolate. I'm a total chocoholic. What I don't like is chocolate with peanut butter.

From: [identity profile] flamingo-killer.livejournal.com


I don't think I've ever seen sugar free peanut butter. Weird.

OK GOOD. I thought from your original comment that you didn't like chocolate, and I just didn't comprehend that. But still, chocolate + peanut butter = yummy.

From: [identity profile] little-aims.livejournal.com


Folate is essential for a growing feutus! That's crazy.


And Dom's at a Diesel night? It's now official: he has no style. I sell Diesel at work and it's the label for people with money and no taste. Don't know what the womens stuff is like, but the mens is foul. Shame Dom, shame.

From: [identity profile] rosamundeb.livejournal.com


Really? You have Children of Men already? What did you think of Charlie Hunnan in it? (I have a friend who's a big fan of his)


p.s. Seeing CoRo in Chicago tomorrow! *G*

From: [identity profile] green-queen.livejournal.com


Yeah, it opened last Thursday. I knew Charlie was in it, so I was looking out for him, but otherwise I never would've recognised him - there's no close-ups on him and he's got dreadlocks and he looks completely different. He was good, though!

Hee, yay! If you talk to them say hi from Katie and that I love the CD Adam gave me. LOVE it. Play it all the time.

From: [identity profile] fluffers.livejournal.com

The rumors of it's banning have been greatly exaggerated


A bit late out of the gate, but I just wanted to let you know Vegemite isn't banend in the US, that's just a rumor. The regulations on 'folate' are re: the synthetic kind, and the folate in Veg. is natural.
.

Profile

green_queen: (Default)
green_queen

Most Popular Tags

Powered by Dreamwidth Studios

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags