Just looking at the images of Deathly Hallows filming is getting me excited again. It looks fantastic! Ron! THE BEADED BAG! I am holding my breath praying they don't fuck this one up, because there's honestly not much about Half-Blood Prince that has me as excited as those few images from Deathly Hallows.

Gorgeous scans of an article about Torchwood: Children of Earth by [livejournal.com profile] agent_girlsname.

Jared, Jensen and Misha interviewed on Channel Ten News. Or, as I like to call it, Channel Ten Sensationalism. It's a lovely interview and the boys are happy and funny and slightly snarky, which is the way we like 'em, but the stuff about the female characters and female fans had me bristling. They were exaggerating, I think, but the interviewer wasn't, and it's not like most of the female characters are hated for no reason. The fandom may be sexist, but how can they be different when the show is sexist? When female characters are written as cliches and tropes and plot devices, instead of real fleshed-out characters? The only female characters the fandom doesn't hate are the ones that aren't pushed on us, but are natural additions to the show - people like Ellen and Pamela, who are believably tough and worldly without it being forced down our throats.

In other words, this, but with the added comment that Supernatural is the most fan-integrated fandom I've seen - so much of what happens on the show is affected by the audience's VERY FIRST REACTION to a brand new character.

The 10 Most Visually Stunning Movies of the Last 10 Years, painfully and shamefully lacking in Lord of the Rings (although I agree with many of the choices, particularly the stunning, breathtaking 'The Fall'.)

May 1st is Blogging Against Disablism Day.

Icons: multi-fandom, multi-fandom, Dollhouse, Supernatural & Chuck...multi-fandom.

Today I went to the movies and saw Monsters vs. Aliens

Total lack of anything resembling a proper plot and it takes a while to get into, but this movie is fun, funny, and actually fairly empowering. Dreamworks is still nowhere near challenging Pixar on the animation front, even if they did into 3D first, because their stories and characters are never as well thought-out, but their gags are better - I loved all the sci-fi references in this one, and stuff like Stephen Colbert as the president was just inspired. The action scenes are fun too (although I could SEE most of the stuff-flying-at-you bits that they had planned for 3D that just end up being a bit cheesy.) Decidedly quotable. I liked the main character, a 5-foot-tall woman (Reese Witherspoon), as well as the blob (Seth Rogen) and the cockroach (Hugh Laurie) (also, ick), but the other two monsters weren't quite as good. There's a terrific gag about disguises, too.

3.5 out of 5



Laaaaaame
Green Queen

From: [identity profile] lyss-monaghan.livejournal.com


re: Monsters vs Aliens

my fav bit was by far how Jack BauerKiefer Sutherland was the General and definitely when the Prez did the Beverly Hills Cop bit.

From: [identity profile] forecastisrayne.livejournal.com


I'm looking forward to both HBP + DH (even after being disappointed with OotP) but I must say that DanRad isn't looking so fresh... *shrugs*

From: [identity profile] green-queen.livejournal.com


I liked OotP, it was my second favourite of the movies. And I think that may be a Harry thing rather than a DanRad thing...

From: [identity profile] forecastisrayne.livejournal.com


I think I was disappointed because it felt so rushed. Considering it was the longest book (and the shortest movie I think?) I felt they could have fleshed bits out longer. I suppose that is my worry for the up coming movies. I do hope they do DH justice...

From: [identity profile] green-queen.livejournal.com


I'd rather the movies be good movies on their own than try to fit in every single thing from the books, which is also why I like 3. And those two movies made sense. I really hate 4, because it makes no sense and it's really shoddily put together.

From: [identity profile] forecastisrayne.livejournal.com


Agreed. 4 was definitely my least favourite of the series... Here's to Potter fever 09/10!

From: [identity profile] ozfinn.livejournal.com


What you have to remember about Angela Bishop is that she's a dumb bitch. It must be a qualification for the job here in Australia... Richard Wilkins anyone?? He walked in front of me at the Star Trek premiere and I very nearly punched the back of his head!

Also I'm sure Carissa wants to kill her after saying that they were out here for Supanova...

From: [identity profile] green-queen.livejournal.com


Yeah, but to be fair, it wasn't all her. The boys were in it too. Of course, they have to be complimentary about their co-stars and writers, but somebody should acknowledge that the show is sexist.
.

Profile

green_queen: (Default)
green_queen

Most Popular Tags

Powered by Dreamwidth Studios

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags