Carrots! Medicinal carrots! ...personal use medicinal carrots that were here when I moved in and I'm holding it for a friend!
Jesus fuck, Alan Tudyk, I had no idea you could do that! I'd been spoiled, so I knew he was Alpha, but I didn't know whether he was fully in the personality he was impersonating or not and I didn't know he'd killed that guy and was pretending to be him. I thought they may have imprinted Alpha to do the designs from another Dollhouse. All the scene of him with Tahmoh were HILARIOUS ('suspicious air' and the stuff when he was trying to get down through the grate had me in stitches) but he just switched and became SO incredibly creepy. And poor Victor's face! WHY WOULD YOU DO THAT TO PRETTY VICTOR'S FACE? I hope he gets to stick around, I think Enver is fantastic.
Apparently Dominic-in-Victor called Claire 'Whiskey', so she...might be a doll? With a long imprint?
Mostly, though, I loved how they just flipped everything we know about who the good guys and bad guys are on its head. You think Paul's the hero? Hah! He just delivered Echo into the hands of the biggest bad guy ever AND didn't bother to use his brain to try to help anyone else! He has a very narrow view of the 'Dollhouse', and it ended up putting everyone in danger. Also, Jamie pointed out to me that Topher appeared to be proud of himself for helping that girl, Susan, and he was the most uncomfortable person in the room when Dominic was in Victor, so he may be more moral than many people thought.
I wish Muhney had played Paul, but Tahmoh is so sexy omg.
I think that might have been my favourite episode after 'Echoes' and 'Man on the Street'.
That's all I've got, because the internet's been on and off all weekend s that it's now late and I have to be up early. Goodnight.
ETA: Chuck's been renewed! ...probably. YAY!
Green Queen
Jesus fuck, Alan Tudyk, I had no idea you could do that! I'd been spoiled, so I knew he was Alpha, but I didn't know whether he was fully in the personality he was impersonating or not and I didn't know he'd killed that guy and was pretending to be him. I thought they may have imprinted Alpha to do the designs from another Dollhouse. All the scene of him with Tahmoh were HILARIOUS ('suspicious air' and the stuff when he was trying to get down through the grate had me in stitches) but he just switched and became SO incredibly creepy. And poor Victor's face! WHY WOULD YOU DO THAT TO PRETTY VICTOR'S FACE? I hope he gets to stick around, I think Enver is fantastic.
Apparently Dominic-in-Victor called Claire 'Whiskey', so she...might be a doll? With a long imprint?
Mostly, though, I loved how they just flipped everything we know about who the good guys and bad guys are on its head. You think Paul's the hero? Hah! He just delivered Echo into the hands of the biggest bad guy ever AND didn't bother to use his brain to try to help anyone else! He has a very narrow view of the 'Dollhouse', and it ended up putting everyone in danger. Also, Jamie pointed out to me that Topher appeared to be proud of himself for helping that girl, Susan, and he was the most uncomfortable person in the room when Dominic was in Victor, so he may be more moral than many people thought.
I wish Muhney had played Paul, but Tahmoh is so sexy omg.
I think that might have been my favourite episode after 'Echoes' and 'Man on the Street'.
That's all I've got, because the internet's been on and off all weekend s that it's now late and I have to be up early. Goodnight.
ETA: Chuck's been renewed! ...probably. YAY!
Green Queen
From:
no subject
Also? Enver impersonating "Dominic" was also utter perfection. I was actually convinced that THAT was Dominic. Enver did an absolutely brilliant job - he must have worked incredibly hard on that. Or he's just good on picking up people's habits and whatnot.
And yes, I love that we saw characters as something else in this episode. All around it was a FANTASTIC episode. One I will definitely be re-watching this week.
From:
no subject
Is that what he did? Hmmm interesting. I thought he was either naming a doll that would help or it was the password or something.
And I hope Enver sticks around too! I loved him as Dominic!!
From:
no subject
Enver is INCREDIBLE. Every character he's played has been really different. Dichen is good too, but she seems to be playing a lot of agent-types lately. I want her to get a really different engagement like the fan one again.
I need a Victor icon :S
From:
no subject
From:
no subject
I hope this rumor about Chuck is true! if Chuck or Dollhouse get canceled I'm gonna cry :(
From:
no subject
As for Alpha, I thought Alan was AMAAAAAAZING. I loved how he was funny and comic relief like he always is, and then BAM! Stacked and mean and slicing Victor's face. Awesome. I was spoiled too, but the precision in which Alan made the switch in his performance was unexpected. It was seamless.
I think Victor will be back if the show gets picked up for another season. Enver is far too good an actor to lose. I actually think he's the best actor on the show, and it would be a damn shame to get rid of him. But his poor face!
Do you think, should the show get picked up for another season that they'll make Paul a Doll? Or, as my friend Darnell thinks, one of the handlers? They can't just let him go.
From:
no subject
Alan was VERY MUCH AMAAAAAAZING. He just floored me when he switched to violent psycho mode. I can't WAIT to see him and Eliza next week!
Do you think they can fix his poor face though? I mean, can he be a doll if he's all sliced and diced? I think he's fantastic, too, although I think pretty much all the lead cast is terrific (except Eliza, which isn't to say she's a bad actress, but she's not the right type of actress for this.) Dichen always impresses me, and Olivia Williams is dynamite. Cold, icy dynamite. So...not so much dynamite, but whatever.
From:
no subject
I think they can fix Victor's face if they really want to. They probably could have fixed Claire's too, but maybe that's all part of the long-term imprint: her fear of an Alpha-like resurgence within the Dolls constantly looking her right in the face. Maybe it keeps her doing her job the way they need her to do it. If she's a Doll, of course. (It's funny how I'm so convinced she is now).
I agree that Dichen and Olivia are fabulous. As are Miracle, Tahmoh, Harry and Fran. And Reed Diamond too. Sadly, Eliza is the weakest link. Strange how that happened. Makes you wonder what the show would be like had Eliza and Joss not come up with it together, and someone like Summer Glau was cast as Echo instead (if she weren't on The Sarah Connor Chronicles). I think Summer would be AMAZING on Dollhouse.
I'd love to see Paul as a handler. I can't imagine them making him a Doll. They'd put him in the attic, more likely. But they might blackmail him into becoming a handler. I don't know how he'd handle being Echo's, though. He's too obsessed with her.
From:
no subject
I think I would be a bit disappointed if Dr. Saunders turns out to be a doll.
From:
no subject
I don't, I think it would make a lot of sense if Dr. Saunders was a doll. Maybe she was too badly scarred to go out on engagements and they imprinted her? It could be really cool and dark.
From:
no subject
probablywanna slice & dice the people who put me in a dollhouse, and I'm not all that crazy. And the easy, pacified targets that the other dolls presented would probably have enraged him further midst identity-crisis.It just doesn't track for me. Topher is so interested in her, though he doesn't seem to bother with the other dolls much at all; it seems like it would be too difficult to keep her from realizing that she's a doll if she has intimate & extensive knowledge about the imprint process; if she's a doll who takes care of dolls, then, to quote Echo, who takes care of her?
I'm pretty sure that there are sorts of people who would want a scarred doll. ::hopes for Victor to stay on the show::
From:
no subject
Apparently Dominic-in-Victor called Claire 'Whiskey', so she...might be a doll? With a long imprint?
That's how I understood it, yes. I've been thinking since the beginning that really any number of people on the staff could be dolls, but with her there could actually be a reason why it started now, since they couldn't use her for regular assignments anymore after Alpha cut her up.
I wish Muhney had played Paul, but Tahmoh is so sexy omg.
Tahmoh is very hot but I just don't CARE about Paul. And as much as I love Tahmoh, I would have loved to see what Muhney had done with the character.
From:
no subject
From:
no subject
From:
no subject
From:
no subject
green_queen_jp@hotmail.com
From:
no subject
Your review makes me wanna watch the episode again, so badly! But I'm watching commentary for season two of Buffy, Surprise, by Joss Whedon, so I'm gonna watch it after.
Oh my gosh at the interpretation of when victor, when he was imprinted as dominic, said 'Whiskey' he was talking about claire! that's amazing. and considering the names of the other dolls (november, echo..) an unusual name like 'Whiskey' would be perfect. Also it would just be typical Joss, to do something like that<3!
Luckily, I stayed away from all the spoilers, so when 'Stephan Kepler' turned out to be Alpha, I actually screamed. Which wasn't so smart when my friend was asleep in bed, on the other side of the room.. x)! I thought Alan Tudyk was beyond amazing! I adored him in Firefly/Serenity, but I never ever knew he could play that darkness. Eeek *Squeal* And when Alpha and Echo kissed, I was just stunned. Really looking forward to seeing him in this Fridays episode.
Thank you for your review.
From:
no subject