MOST EXCITING LINKS TODAY: Dr. Horrible sequel news!!!!
Jed tweets good luck to auditioners, Shawna Trpcic posts teasing pictures, and Nathan and Felicia are chillin'. Either it's an elaborate plot or THEY'RE GEARING UP FOR FILMING. OMG.

Joss Whedon: Master of Cult TV.

A couple of reviews of Dollhouse 2x01 'Vows': on Pioneer Local, AICN. I'm liking what I'm reading. Here'es the official Fox description.

Some Chuck casting news: Brandon Routh and Kristen Kreuk (ugh), Angie Harmon.

New Supernatural promo.

People raving about Muhney. He'd BETTER win a fucking daytime Emmy, since he's better than that show.

There's a colours theme going on over at [livejournal.com profile] picspammy and it seems to be quite inspirational to a lot of people. These Veronica Mars and Lord of the Rings colour-themed picspams are stunning.

Nimoy and Shatner at Dragon-con full panel.

I must've missed this somehow: Trailer for 'The Lovely Bones'. I've actually read both this and 'The Time Traveler's Wife', which isn't terribly normal for me in terms of movies coming out based on current popular books. Of the two, I prefer 'The Lovely Bones', although I didn't enjoy either all that much. Pretty good trailer. While I was there I clicked the link for 'Where the Wild Things Are' and watched that again just for the pure happiness it gives me.

Random thoughts from 25-35 year olds. LMAO. Some of these are soooo true.

Icons: colourful multi-fandom, Veronica Mars ([livejournal.com profile] baldie_troll, you might like those), more multi-fandom.

Today I watched two movies:

The Boat That Rocked

This movie's a bit of a curiosity to me. My opinion doesn't usually wildly differ from that of the major critics. I mean, there might be a star or a star-and-a-half in it, but usually I can see their point about movies. However, with 'The Boat That Rocked', I've found that nearly everyone I know who's seen it at least likes it while the critics really REALLY don't.

I enjoyed this movie a lot. Knowing as I do that it is very different from the real story, I would like to see a more straight-forward version of events, but I thought the movie was really fun and sweet. The acting was, for the most part, good - Philip Seymour Hoffman is always worthwhile, Rhys Ifans and Bill Nighy put in brilliant and unforgettable performances, and the supporting cast was filled out with characters who were all at least intriguing. Emma Thompson puts in a glorious cameo. I think the movie fell down in the villain department, though. Kenneth Brannagh can usually be counted on to provide a decent villain, but in this I wasn't sure at all what they were trying to do with his blustering politician here, and it was played way too over-the-top. The occasional flicks to what he was doing didn't give him the time to develop. Norrington Jack Davenport as a brown-nosing, erm, Twat, did an awful lot better - he was both more menacing and more sympathetic. I did get a bit of a Cameron Crowe wannabe-'Almost Famous' vibe, and it suffers by comparison, but that might not be a fair one - it's entirely different in feel, even if a lot of the plot and scenarios are similar. The movie was quite lovely stylistically, and I laughed a lot. Some sections didn't quite work out, but the ones that did sort of made up for it. I just found it an enjoyabl and easy-going experience, and I don't know where the disconnect with the critics is happening.

3.5 out of 5

The New Guy

Awful. I had to watch it because my mentor teacher had decided (before I got a say, mind) that she would use this movie as a film study unit with one of her classes this semester, along with '17 Again'. Even that movie was better than this one. Most of the time I was just sort of scratching my head going "What? WHAT?" I think I laughed...three times? Maybe? in the whole thing. I was taking notes, and a lot of them start with "what is up with...?" rather than being actually useful for class. If the incredibly juvenile, strange comedy, random cameos, occasional brief moments of bizarrely accurate introspection, and odd number of horses weren't bad enough, all of the males in this movie are total idiots. I wanted to strangle DJ Qualls by the end of it.

Because I'm biased, I'm giving myself liscence to give a whole star just for Eliza and Zooey, who are lovely and wonderful and deserved much better than this. In fact, they should have hooked up with each other in the end and left the moronic boys to each other.

2 out of 5




[livejournal.com profile] killmotion made the Glee gifs I'm posting. This may in fact be my favourite moment of the pilot.

Master of cult blogging
Green Queen

From: [identity profile] overthemoo.livejournal.com


Kurt's hair flip... totes the best moment.

As for Michael winning a Daytime Emmy - that'd be wonderful. But unfortunately, a tie took place the other night and the 2 guys who shared it? One was deserving of it by FAR and the other was the one least deserving. lol You never know who is going to get it, or get nominated! The 2 ladies whose characters make up Otalia - neither one even got NOMINATED. But eh, I'm over that lack of recognition - now I'm just waiting for Crystal Chappell's web series. It feels like Dr. Horible all over again. I love that she knows how powerful the internet is and wants to do what CBS restricted GL from doing. Crystal's kind of awesome like that. :)

Oh man, those "Random Thoughts".... I love finding out I'm not the only one who thinks of something a certain way. Like in 500 Days of Summer with the whole Expectations/Reality split screen.

From: [identity profile] green-queen.livejournal.com


500 Days of Summer hasn't come out here yet :(

He should win. He's the only person on the show I can even stand to watch. Also, I'd like for him to get recognised in something - he always gets shafted. Kinda like James Marsden.

From: [identity profile] overthemoo.livejournal.com


When it does come out, be sure not to miss it!

Absolutely agreed. He does deserve it the most. Daytime Emmys are just so weird. This year's show was a wreck altogether. Vanessa did a 8 minute song & dance number AND she had a 4 minutes song at the beginning, Sesame Street got a Lifetime Acheivement award and got a 9 minute number. But Guiding Light, after a 70+ year run (pre-tv series here) got a ONE minute tribute video. What a disgrace. Ntm, the production was crap altogether.
Edited Date: 2009-09-06 01:05 am (UTC)
ext_16618: ([DH] Sleep don't weep.)

From: [identity profile] killmotion.livejournal.com


I'm liking the Dollhouse reviews, too. Excited! It's like a birthday present for me, since the new episode airs a day after. :D

Oh yay my Glee gifs! I am so making them every week!

From: [identity profile] green-queen.livejournal.com


It's not for ages though. I want new Dollhouse now!

I hope you do! I can't make gifs, but I looove them.
ext_16618: ([DH] Sleep don't weep.)

From: [identity profile] killmotion.livejournal.com


It is but I've got enough shows to keep me occupied until then. I wonder if it'll leak. Hmmm. Not many episodes of things have leaked and it's sad. I enjoy leaks!

Not to fret, I will make plenty and take requests if I miss anything, probably at gleeclub since that's the main community. ;)

From: [identity profile] entwashian.livejournal.com


Kristin Kreuk casting news bothered me as well... I feel like it is just going to be a repeat of Chuck/Lou, which I didn't like because I found Rachel Bilson cardboardy & uninteresting.

From: [identity profile] green-queen.livejournal.com


I like Rachel Bilson ok. I thought that storyline was just kind of silly though, and I think they need to bite the damn bullet with Chuck/Sarah.

From: [identity profile] entwashian.livejournal.com


But then Sarah would be transferred away, and that horrid Tricia Helfer would have to come back to the show!

(And by "horrid", I mean *awesome*.)

From: [identity profile] green-queen.livejournal.com


LOL. I still like Sarah. And I don't think that's going to happen.

(Although I wouldn't mind more Tricia Helfer, I LOVE her.)

From: [identity profile] entwashian.livejournal.com


Yeah, I think they've kind of written themselves into a corner there... it feels false for Sarah & Chuck not to be together at this point, but they can't really come up with a plausible way for Sarah to do her job & be Chuck's girlfriend.

From: [identity profile] green-queen.livejournal.com


They need a sharp, radical change at this point to really get things going again. I don't know what, but something...I do LOVE the fact that Awesome now knows Chuck's a spy. To have him be the one to find out is genius.

From: [identity profile] baldie-troll.livejournal.com


OMG The Boat That Rocked was awesome fun.

Ughh why would you think I would like them. You know how I dislike Logan.

From: [identity profile] green-queen.livejournal.com


I thought you might like the Veronica ones, dummy. They're very pretty and simple, they're kinda your style.

From: [identity profile] hepcatliz.livejournal.com


The Lovely Bones trailer? Pretty good, tho I'm more interested in seeing Susie's heaven than anything else ;D And I oppose Mark Walburg as the dad, it's just wrong to me.

From: [identity profile] green-queen.livejournal.com


Marky Mark can be pretty good when he pulls his thumb out and works at it. He was the best part of The Departed. I actually prefer that casting to the casting of Rachel Weisz as the mother, and I like it WAY more than the original casting of Ryan Gosling. It looks like he's doing a pretty good job from the trailer.
.

Profile

green_queen: (Default)
green_queen

Most Popular Tags

Powered by Dreamwidth Studios

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags