'Glee' is one of the best new shows of 2009. Tell me something I don't know.

Glee interview: "Expect kissing, fighting, crying and singing".

Don't be afraid of the sex on 'Glee'. The way the parents react you'd think they were having orgies every five minutes. "The sound of the balloon popping makes the angels cry!"

Chris & Cory interview.

Australian Churches Given OK to Ban Gays From Their Hospitals + Schools. I give OK to ban Christian fundamentalists from my life. It's working out well for me.

In better gay news, yesterday in France there was a "kiss-in" against homophobia. N'awww! More pics here.

LMAO Eli Roth, what?!

ETA: Firefly: The Big Damn Musical. It's fun!

Picspams:
Matty Fresh
Faraday!!!

Icons:
[livejournal.com profile] dekolette MADE MORE GLEE ICONS OMG!
Supernatural 5.03, more of the same, multi-fandom

"I know what I know."
Wow. The scenes between Claire and Topher were amaaaazing. Like, they made me wish that Echo and Ballard didn't exist so we could just have the Claire & Topher stuff all episode. Which is hard to do, because Eliza and Tahmoh are smoking hot...it's just a shame their characters aren't. It was nice to see Bamber, but I felt he was wasted, and I really don't think the episode added anything more to what we already know about Echo and Ballard. Ballard's like the dark side of Helo: he aims to do the right thing, but it leads him down really dark and awful paths rather than never compromising his ethics. It's depressing, because Helo was my favourite and Ballard might be my least favourite. I really wish they would expand this more into an ensemble show, and I hope we get to see more of all the others soon - Sierra's one bit in this episode was absolute gold. I love Ivy, too. On a shallow note, I don't really like Adelle's haircut and I DO like Boyd and Ballard in their very fine suits.

Back to Claire and Topher. "You're supposed to be better than me!" No wonder Topher goes crazy. What Claire was doing to him went beyond practical jokes, the were seriously cracked, and when he woke up in bed with her all over him...that whole scene was incredibly fucking powerful, him explaining to her how she works, who she is, what he was thinking when he made her. All the stuff about her choosing to hate him...my heart broke a little. I swear Fran Kranz is hotter this season.

Yay, Victor's face!

Look, any disappointment we may have in this season opener is entirely their own fault for giving us the amazing awesomeness that was Epitaph One and following it up with any show that doesn't continue in the vein of Epitaph One. How can you create something that ridiculously good and then just give us pretty decent TV afterwards?

This show is boring. It reminded me too much of Lost in some ways and not enough of Lost in others: Lost immediately gave us characters that were at least mostly pretty interesting and unique for whom we could feel something, but I felt nothing for anyone in this show except John Cho and Jack Davenport, and that's only because I love the actors. I couldn't care less what anyone saw in their futures, the "mystery" seemed trumped up until that bit at the end with the guy in the stadium (can I guess Simon?) and I know I'll have to suffer through this for Dom. Sigh.

Day Watch

I thought Night Watch was nigh incomprehensible, but Day Watch takes the cake. It's not only frequently steeped in mythology so dense it would probably take a week for me to unravel it, but it has one of the most ridiculous plot devices I've ever heard of that creates an ending to the movie I can't say I was thrilled with. Still, Timur Bekmambetov does things with a car and a camera that Hollywood directors couldn't think of in their wildest dreams and the movie did have some pretty kick-ass scenes and characters. I just wish it wasn't so muddled and messy.

2.5 out of 5

Intacto

Intacto is a well-made film. It's crafted beautifully, it's well-acted, and it has some fairly intriguing scenes and themes. My problem with this one is that it takes a suspension of disbelief that I was not willing to make, and that made me lost interest in several places. Mostly, I just felt like everyone was a little bit stupid for getting involved in the world of the film in the first place. It's a silly idea that's never made any less silly, and the characters are largely pretty unsympathetic - if not for being cruel, then for being stupid.

3 out of 5

Reefer Madness

Kristen Bell and Alan Cumming in a musical about marijuana zombies? How could you not want to watch this? It was actually pretty great as far as cult films go. The songs were fun, and the premise - a musical based on a 30's cautionary film about the dangers of smoking dope - is borderline genius. It's ridiculous, but only because the lies are so preposterous, and it's really entertaining. Kristen Bell can play pretty much anyone and have you a) believing her and b) rooting for her. Only concerns are that some actors were just stupid, and occasionally the lack of budget or imagination showed - there were a couple of scenes in which people just sang at a stationary camera, always bad for a movie musical unless you've got a star who can REALLY pull it off. Some of these ones couldn't. Still, enjoyable.

3 out of 5


Posted to Dianna's twitter a few days ago. GUH.


N'aww, so precious!



In the world of emoticons, I was a colon-capital-D
Green Queen

From: [identity profile] dekolette.livejournal.com


That Eli Roth thing got so out of control. I still cannot believe it. It amused me a lot in the beginning not gonna lie. Him discovering that meme, telling everyone about it and the ONTD sign and the blueberry story. But then they went all nuts. =/

That Farady picspam makes me sad ;_;

And you know, thanks for linking ♥

From: [identity profile] green-queen.livejournal.com


Well, because it was really amusing to start with - when everyone was being well-behaved and it was just, you know, a fun joke. Then the fangirls started getting stupid. Shocker.

I know, I keep forgetting what happened to him!

From: [identity profile] dekolette.livejournal.com


It was little bit of a shocker. I mean, I am not surprised that they went nuts in general but I'm surprised so many people sent him these messages and pics and think it's okay. Oh well, ONTD.

Awww, I left the first comment from outside the cut and didn't see the images. Jensen looks adorable in that picture. And hee, Mark :D I wonder what he looks like with more hair on his head *mh*

From: [identity profile] hobbitofkobol.livejournal.com


thanks for the link to that kiss-in video! I didn't even know about it. Can you believe it? haha

From: [identity profile] truffle-shuffle.livejournal.com


Mark cut off his mohawk? :(

I really, really loved "Vows". I might be in the minority in thinking it wasn't boring at all, and was awesome all over the place. If you look at if from a post-Epitaph One standpoint, then yes, it's a step backwards, but there's no way it couldn't be. EO is the endgame, it's where we know it's going, and now it's time to see how it gets there. Which, I'm guessing, won't be this season, unless something ridiculous happens where Fox still doesn't have faith in the show and the cancellation rumors start up in full force. I think, and maybe I'm overly optimistic, but I think Fox actually wants this show to be successful in the way that it has proven to be, and won't be swinging the ax so soon. My fingers are still crossed for the full-season pick up. Give us the back nine, Fox!

And yes, Fran is hotter this season. I want more of him and Amy, together. They are my favorites.


I really liked Flash Forward. Maybe it's because I lived in LA and I recognized every location they showed, but I found it scary in a real world way, and intriguing. I thought Joseph Fiennes and Sonya Walger were great, everyone in the FBI office was great, and there was far too little of Jack Davenport. I went into it was very low expectations because I didn't - and still don't - see how this premise can play out long-term, but I found it surprised me with how cool and unique it was.

But I don't think the guy on the video is Simon. Maybe he's got connections to Simon but...and this is totally superficial, but, he was too tall to be Dom. lol

From: [identity profile] green-queen.livejournal.com


Nah, I just don't connect terribly well with Echo and Ballard. I mean, it was a lot better than some stuff in season 1, but I don't find their characters as interesting as I want to. I found myself wishing we'd get back to the Dollhouse a lot. It wasn't even as awesome as most of the last 6 episodes of the last season - it was only really on about the same level as Haunted for me, which I actually liked but was not as good as the episodes around it.

Yeah but I'm guessing they filmed that before they cast Dom. Jamie said he was too tall too!
ext_16618: ([DH] Number one)

From: [identity profile] killmotion.livejournal.com


I give OK to ban Christian fundamentalists from my life. It's working out well for me.
AS DO I.

I love Dollhouse and the Topher and Claire banter and flirting and minfuckery was awesome. And also I can see more of the Joss...iness shine through. I feel he has much more freedom with this season.

OMG THE PICTURE WITH JARED, JENSEN, COLIN AND RIDGE, D'AWWWW!!!
.

Profile

green_queen: (Default)
green_queen

Most Popular Tags

Powered by Dreamwidth Studios

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags