Today I:

  • had two Italian hot chocolates with friends

  • went to Costco with said friends and hit my head on the lid to my boot (or trunk, for you Americans)

  • bought new knives that are brightly coloured and super fun

  • proceeded to cut myself on said knives while trying to open the packet - twice

  • burned myself making dinner

  • bumped into a friend for the second time in a week, having not seen him for 9 month beforehand

  • watched 80s horror movies!

  • watched all of Darren's scenes in the rather abysmal Eastwick.


My life is a wild party.

Cute Glee icons, including my fabulous animated Blaine ones.



PUCK DOES THIS. In fact,l he chased the cursor around the screen as I typed up this entry.





My friend told me that the new Fright Night is awesome and I have to see it, but before doing that I decided to watch the original Fright Night (1985)

Fright Night was entertaining, silly horror, very much in the Lost Boys vein - wacky horror effects, over-the-top villain and sidekicks, teenager at the centre of the action - but it lacked the heart that Lost Boys has (and, for the most part, the horrendous fashion choices - although it's still very clearly 80s). It did have superior turns from Prince Humperdinck Chris Sarandon as charming vamp Jerry Dandridge and a brilliantly cowardly Roddy MacDowell as TV vampire hunter Peter Vincent - the movie was most entertaining when those two were facing off against each other. Some of the cinematography was pretty good, but it lacked a unifying tone. What with Peter Vincent's TV show as a running motif, I'm thinking Fright Night was sort of a tribute to the old-school TV horror shows like The Twilight Zone, with that kind of too-serious-to-be-taken-seriously tone, and that part of the movie worked well for me. The kids ranged from bland to annoying, though.
The horror effects are brilliant if ridiculous, and there's so many of them that go on for so long that you could practically make a separate movie out of them. Melting bodies, distorted faces, a whole variety of fangs, random wolf effects, gooey skeletons, this movie has everything and the kitchen sink - in spite of the fact that all of the bad guys are meant to be vampires (was everyone in the props and makeup department clear on what "vampire" means?)

Also, most annoying mother in movie history. Seriously, I wanted the vampires to get her. Sidekick "Evil Ed" doesn't fare much better - his voice made me want to stab my monitor with my brand new knives.

(Yes, I did immediately watch Lost Boys right after. I really love that movie.)

3 out of 5















Green Queen

From: [identity profile] teapostal.livejournal.com


SIMON'S CAT. I haven't watched that in forever, but gosh do I love Simon's Cat! I think it is every cat :D

From: [identity profile] zombres.livejournal.com


Fright Night was definitely a tribute to the Hammer Horror films of the fifties. The Peter Vincent character is even named after the two biggest stars of Hammer: Peter Cushing and Vincent Price. I love the film if only for Sarandon's great Jerry and that dance scene, HOW DID THAT MAN MAKE SWEATERS SO SEXY?, and for Evil Ed's truly horrific death sequence.

The new film is a lot gorier and creepier; Colin Farrell's Jerry has a masochistic streak a fucking mile wide, and Tenninch's Peter Vincent is such a boozy, profane mess -- LOVE IT. And the mother and girlfriend characters get to be way more proactive and badass, SO I APPROVE.
.

Profile

green_queen: (Default)
green_queen

Most Popular Tags

Powered by Dreamwidth Studios

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags